Intensive Care Unit (ICU)

Intensive Care Unit in Mysore

Emergency Department (ED) at Manipal hospital, Mysore, is equipped with specially trained healthcare professionals, advanced medical equipment and nurses who closely monitor critically ill patients 24X7 and ensure their vitals are stable. ICUs, Critical Care Units (CCU), or Intensive Therapy Units (ITU) are generally dedicated to patients who are critically ill or patients suffering from life-threatening medical conditions. Patients with organ problems who require external medical or life support are also admitted to the ICU, where the highest level of patient care is provided to critically or acutely ill patients. 

ICUs in Manipal Hospitals are self-contained areas fully furnished with state-of-the-art ICU medical equipment, high-tech facilities, and with hygienic atmosphere free from infections. Patients in ICUs are given the highest care, closely, continuously monitored, and treated with rapid interventions if needed. ICU units provide intensive care to patients where their vitals are constantly monitored to ensure they are stable to prevent further deterioration and increase survival chances in critically ill patients. 

Generally, patients suffering from emergency conditions and accidents, such as severe head injury, burns, heart attack, stroke, cardiac arrest, respiratory failure, etc., are admitted to ICU. The ICU healthcare team is multi-disciplinary and interprofessional, involving renowned intensive care doctors, nurses and specialists specialised in giving critical care to patients. A variety of medical, trauma and surgical conditions are treated in ICUs. Visit our emergency care hospital in Mysore for the best treatment.

Types of ICUs 

Intensive care Units (ICUs) are classified according to medical conditions treated or by the age group of the patients (Paediatric patient or adult patient). From causality, general wards and special wards to CCUs, ICCUs, burn wards, PICUs and more, Manipal Hospital, Mysore, has almost all specialised ICUs to cater to a wide range of patients and their medical needs. There are various types of specialised ICUs, as mentioned below: 

  • MICU

Medical Intensive Care Unit (MICU) is dedicated to adult patients undergoing medical disorders requiring close and continuous observation, specialised monitoring and medical intervention. Patients suffering from accidents and emergency conditions such as stroke, burns, respiratory failure, heart attack, cardiac arrest, etc., can also be admitted to MICU. Adults with medical disorders like diabetic ketoacidosis, drug overdose, intestinal bleeding, etc., are generally accepted here. 

  • SICU

Surgical Intensive Care Unit (SICU) is dedicated to the management of postoperative care for patients who have undergone massive invasive surgical treatments, major abdominal surgeries, thoracotomy patients, multiple trauma patients and alike. Patients who require continuous monitoring and close observation are admitted to SICU. 

  • ICCU

Intensive Coronary Care Unit (ICCU) is dedicated to the treatment of critically ill patients having heart disorders such as coronary heart disease, cardiac arrest, heart failure, heart attack, etc. 

  • PICU

Paediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) is exclusively dedicated to little paediatric patients who have recently undergone surgery or are at risk of deterioration. 

  • NICU

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) manages premature and critically ill babies. High-risk neonates (newborns) with congenital (birth) disorders are taken care of in NICUs. 

Typically, ICUs include medical equipment such as ventilators, health monitoring devices and equipment, catheters, drains, IV lines, feeding tubes, and advanced equipment like dialysis machines, medical alarms, etc. Book an appointment to have the best treatment.

Call Us